1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. On-premise/Customer-Hosted Server
  4. Customer-Hosted FAQ
  5. Changing the Workplace Auto Update Settings (On-Prem Only)
  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. On-premise/Customer-Hosted Server
  4. Server Upgrade
  5. Changing the Workplace Auto Update Settings (On-Prem Only)

Changing the Workplace Auto Update Settings (On-Prem Only)

In the Company Settings section of the Administrator, there is a setting called “Only Prompt for Required Upgrade”.  If this setting is checked, you can upgrade your Workplace server to the latest version without prompting your users to upgrade (unless it is specified that the server upgrade requires the clients to upgrade to the latest version).  If this setting is not checked, then after upgrading your Workplace server, your clients using the Workplace Desktop Application or Workplace Outlook Interface will automatically be prompted to upgrade to the latest version when they log in.

 

Most companies choose to turn off the Auto Update feature and push out the client through a Group Policy or Login Script.  You can also use your own FTP server rather than using the default Workplace FTP server.  To change these settings, you will need to have access to SQL Management Studio (or SQL Management Studio Express) and connect to your Workplace (SolutionSavant) database.

To see the current FTP settings, run the following command:
SELECT * FROM Versions

Below is an example update statement which would update the FTP settings for the Workplace Application Interface to point to the newest release on Workplace’s default FTP site:
UPDATE Versions SET
FTPUserName = ‘yourftpusername’,
FTPPassword = ‘yourftppassword’,
FTPSite = ‘yourftpsite’,
FTPDirectory = ‘downloads’,
FTPPort = ’21’,
FTPUpdateFileName = ‘SavanceWorkplaceAppXXXX.exe’ –XXXX stands for the version you need like v11.3.0 would be ‘1130’
WHERE VersionSys = 100000

Note:  If you are using Workplace version 9.0.63 or older, the default FTP settings are pointing to an FTP server which is no longer active.  This Workplace-Hosted feature was depreciated since clients and servers are not upgraded at the same time without administrative planning. But the feature is available for Customer-Hosted Servers to utilize. You will need to manually update the FTPUsername, FTPPassword, and FTPSite settings in the Versions table.

Tip: If you have SQL Query Analyzer or SQL Management Studio, you can connect directly to the database and run the .sql file directly against the server are you make the appropriate changes for your FTP server.
Tip: If you do not have an FTP server, you can download a free version called ProvideServer here.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support