1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. FAQ
  4. Data Retention Policies for Workplace

Data Retention Policies for Workplace

Workplace keeps the data of alerts, chat history, logs and statuses for each user. Since this data will take up a lot of space over time, automatic tasks occur to erase old information. Here is a list of how long the data is stored by default:

Data Storage Period

  • Alerts – 30 days
  • Chat History – 90 days
  • Logs – 30 days
  • Statuses – Indefinitely
  • Calendar – Indefinitely

Customer-Hosted Customer

When you are Customer-Hosted, you have the ability to save the chat history for free, but at the cost of using your own storage space. To lengthen the time that the chat history is stored or to store it indefinitely, you can follow these steps:

  1. Open the Workplace Server
  2. Click the Management button
  3. Select Settings from the options
  4. Go to the Chat tab
  5. Uncheck the ‘Delete Chat History older than’ option to save the history indefinitely. OR Change the number to the amount of days that you would like to save the chat history.

A customer can save the rest of the information infinitely on the Customer-Hosted server as well. All they will have to do is change the SQL Task settings in the Workplace server. Below are the steps for changing these settings:

 

Infinite Data Storage

  1. Navigate to the Workplace Server
  2. Click the SQL Tasks tab
  3. Right click the task that needs changed
  4. Deselect the Enable option

 

Changing Data Storage Period

  1. Navigate to the Workplace Server
  2. Click the SQL Tasks tab
  3. Select the task that needs changed
  4. Click Edit
  5. Change the number to the amount of days that you want the user data saved. For Clear All Logs, you change the task’s schedule actions from every 2 weeks to whatever desired about of days or weeks.
Was this article helpful?

Related Articles