1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Software
  4. Administration
  5. How can I use Security Groups and Locations?

How can I use Security Groups and Locations?

EIOBoard (EB) has many built-in security groups. Additional security groups can be defined to fit most–if not all–necessary configurations. Below is a summary of what each security group can access within EIOBoard.

EIOBoard Defined Security Groups

EB Admin: Has full control to the Admin features and can do everything all the other security groups can do.
EB Receptionist: Can change the statuses of anyone and add/update receptionist comments.
EB Group Manager: Can change the statuses of anyone within their EIOBoard group.
EB Time Card Manager: Can View/Edit all of the user’s time data and create timecards for users.
EB Customer Manager: Can modify the values for the EIOBoard Customer Integration Add-on.
EB View Reports: Can have access to the various EIOBoard reports that can be accessed in the Web Browser, the Application, or Outlook Add-in interfaces.
EB Master Admin: Can add/edit/delete Organizations in the Administrator and can also switch between Organization to change their settings.
EB Student View Only: Limits access in the EIOBoard Browser Interface so users can only login and see their own Status History.
EB Student Edit Time: Limits access in the EIOBoard Browser Interface so users can only login and see their own Status History and can also edit their own Status History.
EB Chat History Manager: Can view Chat History for all users and also delete history.
EB User Manager: Can add/edit/delete users and change their selected locations and groups.

Managing Groups and Locations

For Groups:

 A person can belong to one group, multiple groups, or no group at all. If someone does not belong to a group, the only way to see them is on the “All” group tab.

For Locations:

A person can be a member of one location, or no location at all. A person belongs to one location by association. By setting Status Locations during Status Updates, EIOBoard puts those people into any location in an actionable way. Conversely, when someone does not belong to a location, the only way to see that person is to specifically change your view settings to the “<All>” Location.

Desktop Interface: Adding Groups and Locations

  • Go to Administration
  • Go to
  • There you can create, edit, and manage the members of groups and locations

Web Interface: Adding Groups and Locations

 

Changing User Security Groups, Groups, and Locations

To change a user’s security, group, or location, simply select the user from the Users tab in Administration.  Place checkmarks next to the desired securities, groups, and locations in the right pane.  Your selections will automatically be saved.

 On the Web Interface

 

Choose “Edit” on the user you would like to assign a security group.

Here you can assign the groups, locations, and security groups all in one spot.

 

Desktop Interface: Bulk Administration of Groups and Locations

You can also add multiple users to a particular location or group under the Manage Groups / Locations tab.  Select the Group or Location that you would like to manage and hit the Members button to bring up a Select Users window.  You can place checkmarks next to all the users that you would like placed into that particular Group or Location, then hit Update to save the changes.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles