One of the key aspects of communication in an organization is the ability to quickly send out messages to multiple users, whether it be purely informative or part of a disaster response protocol. Both the Savance Workplace web interface and desktop application offer tools to handle Mass Messaging so that your users will always be aware of any important information. This Knowledge Base article will overview how each interface handles the mass sending of text messages, emails, and internal Savance Workplace notes.
Web Interface
Enabling Mass Messaging
In order to use Mass Messaging in the web interface, it must first be enabled in the Global Settings. Navigate to Administrator > Global Settings > General Settings, and then make sure that “Show Send Message button in Web” is checked. Note that you’ll need to either sign in and out or refresh the browser page in order for the “Send Message” button to appear or disappear after changing the setting.

Enable “Show Send Message button in Web” in the General Settings section of Global Settings
If the “Send Message” button still doesn’t appear, there’s a chance that it is in the “More Options” drop-down menu. If so, it’s because of a local user setting: “Show Send Message Button in the Toolbar“. If that setting is enabled, the “Send Message” button will be in the toolbar. If it is not disabled, then it will be hidden away in the “More Options” drop-down menu.


Using Mass Messaging
Once the “Send Message” button is enabled in the Global Settings, it can be accessed in the toolbar or the “More Options” drop-down menu, depending on the user’s settings.

Click the “Send Message” button to use Mass Messaging in the web interface
Upon clicking the “Send Message” button, you’ll be greeted with the Mass Messaging page. There are several key things to focus on, Users, Selection Groups, the Message Field, Sending Method, and Quick Messages.

Users
The Users section will be what determines who exactly the mass message is going to be sent to. The primary method for selecting users is to select each user individually, providing precise control over recipients.
Selection Groups
The Selection Groups tabs offer quick and easy ways to select entire groups, locations, or status locations of users to send the message to. These selection methods all work in addition to each other, so you can select both individual users and whole groups and locations at the same time.
Message Field
The Message Field is where the desired message can be typed. Please note that the maximum allowed message length if sending as a Savance Workplace Note is 2000 characters. For SMS messages, standard messaging rates may apply.
Quick Messages
The Quick Messages feature allows you to set up pre-defined messages to then quickly pick from at a later date. This is helpful especially in emergency situations, where accurate and correct instructions must be given as soon as possible. This interface does not support return keys (enter lines). Please use \n for new lines
Sending Method
The Sending Method section determines how exactly your message will be sent out. The SMS option will send a text message to the selected users, as long as they have their “Cell” field filled out in their contact information. The Email option will send an email to the selected users, as long as their have their “Email” field filled out in their contact information. The Note option will send an internal Savance Workplace Note to the selected users, where it can then be viewed in the browser, desktop app, or mobile app interfaces.
Sending the Mass Message
Once you’ve selected your desired users, message, and method of sending, you can click the “Preview” button to preview exactly how the message will be sent. You’ll see your message, the methods of sending you selected, as well as every single user selected, by what criteria they were selected with, and whether or not they will be able to receive the message through the various means. In the example screenshot below, many users do not have a Cell number or Email attached to their account, so that respective column for them is left unchecked, meaning they will not receive messages through those means.
Once you have looked everything over and are ready to send out the mass message, go ahead and click the “Send Message” button.
