Turn On/Off Chat History

On-Prem Customers

If you are a Customer-Hosted user there are two places you need to make sure chat history is enabled; on the server and on the client.

To enable the Chat server via your Customer-Hosted server, you must open up the Workplace Server program. Go into the Settings (under the Management menu) and select the Chat tab. Check “Enable Chat History” (if it is not already) and click the Save button. If you do not want Chat History to be deleted, un-check the “Delete Chat History” setting.  You can also change the number of days from the default of 90. Once your changes have been made click the Save button, then close the Settings.

Now on the end-user client, you can turn on chat history per user by going into the settings and on the Chat tab check the “Enable Chat History” setting and click OK. You can also turn on for all users by going to the ‘Company User Settings tab in the Administrator and under the Chat section make sure the “Deployable Setting” and “Deploy” are checked for the “Enable Chat History” setting, and optionally check “Locked” for this setting if you do not want users to be able to turn it off, then click “Save and Deploy”. Please note that for any users that have the EB Admin security rights you will still need to manually enable this in the user settings since the Company User Settings do not deploy to EB Admin.

Deployment Settings:

Desktop Settings:

Also, if your EIOBoard is set up with multiple organizations, you would need to deploy the Company User Settings for each Organization listed in the drop-down at the bottom of this screen.

Cloud Customers

For EIOBoard-Hosted users, the chat server is already enabled by default.

Now on the client you can turn on chat history per user by going into the settings and on the Chat tab check the “Enable Chat History” setting and click OK. You can also turn on for all users by going to the Company User Settings tab in the Administrator and under the Chat section make sure the “Deployable Setting” and “Deploy” are checked for the “Enable Chat History” setting, and optionally check “Locked” for this setting if you do not want users to be able to turn it off, then click “Save and Deploy”. Please note that for any users that have the EB Admin security rights you will still need to manually enable this in the user settings since the Company User Settings do not deploy to EB Admins.

Chat History is automatically deleted after 90 days for Cloud users.  Workplace-Hosted customers cannot change this settings. Chat messages are not logged until the chat history option is turned on. This means that if you chat with someone yesterday with chat history off, then today you turn on chat history, you will still not be able to see a history of your chat from yesterday.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support